The census returns for Bury St Edmund, edited by Timmins, and extracted from his book,
Timmins, T.C B. (ed.), Suffolk Returns from the Census of Religious Worship, 1851, Boydell, 1997
provide a unique sample of mid-19th century religious life in a small county town in West Suffolk.
Three places of worship in Bury St Edmunds were omitted from the Census:
BAPTIST CHAPEL, Westgate Street. Built 1840; there in 1855. 51 members but no stations in 1850
PRIMITIVE METHODIST CIRCUIT CHAPEL, Garland Street. Opened 22 Jan. 1830. Sunday services: mornings, afternoons, and evenings.
ST EDMUND'S ROMAN CATHOLIC CHAPEL, Westgate Street. Chapel built 1838. Sunday services: Mass 10 a.m.; Prayers, Instruction, and Benediction, 3 p.m.
Timmins also includes details of the provision at Bury St Edmunds County Gaol and House of Correction on Sicklesmere Road, and at the two workhouses but the number of attendees is not mentioned though the officiating chaplains appear to be all Anglicans.